September 30, 2010

Scrying with a Mirror

Posted in Meditations, Tools, Witchy Things tagged , , at 5:39 am by Babs

When attending a Pagan Pride I generally only buy items that call to me.  One year it was Runes.  Another year it was a crystal ball.  This year it was a scrying mirror.  What I find is that each year as I am called to one tool or another, I am learning at my own pace.  Most of my pagan friends are leap years ahead of me with what they are learning and the honing of their skills.  I have found that your magickal path is yours alone and you must take it at your own pace. 

In discussing a scrying mirror with my friend Gaia, she said she no longer uses hers.  She no longer needs the tool and has progressed to seeing images in her “mind’s eye”.  What is wonderful about this is that while I know little about the tool, I learned right away that it is just a tool to assist me in scrying.  Therefore, as I progress, different tools may work better than others but the skill of scrying will still be the foundational skill in and of itself. 

When taking a workshop on scrying, the instructor had mentioned that the tool should be covered or contained when not in use.  It will continue to act as a portal even when not in use.  Taking care of your tools and handling them with respect is always an important part of any magickal undertaking.

The purpose of a scrying tool is to assist your intuition or subconscious to speak to your conscious self.  To do this follow a few simple steps.

  1. Quiet your mind.  Use a few minutes to meditate and offer a request out to the universe to help you with your quest.
  2. In a quiet spot, darkened room, light a candle and gaze upon the mirror with candle light near you. 
  3. Unfocus your eyes and take note of what you begin to see and where on the tool you see the images. 
  4. Make notes of your findings.  Most often scrying will unravel a story after a few sessions. 

Sometimes you may see things toward the edges of the mirror.  This can indicate past lives, past events in this life or your spirit guide who will often watch over your shoulder.

The best advice I was ever given was that any skill takes practice, patience and perseverence.  If scrying via mirror or water or crystal ball is something you are called to learn or investigate, keep with it and let it unravel in its own due course.  Happy scrying!

Leave a Reply

